Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

The amount of time spent daily on smartphones has increased in the past years by the youth. There are several approaches to this matter, either on positive or negative side. My impression is that it is harmful, and it can lead to troubles in the self-development of youngsters. Firstly, one of the underlying reasons is the significant rise of streaming platforms and gaming apps. The huge variety of applications avalaible are definitely motivate its users to spend big amount of their time using them. Despite the fact that they can be extremely enjoyable, using them on a daily basis can cause addictions. I suppose everybody has a friend of theirs who has found himself or herself in this particular situation. Apart from playing games, another factor that increases smartphone usage can be related to the changes in communication. People tend to communicate less with each other in person, and rather do it online. Nowadays people are offered a variety of ways to speak with their friends and family online. The most popular ones are Messenger, iMessage and Facetime. In fact, these are quick and easy to use. What makes it even more casual is that these applications are basically reachable at any time of the day with just a simple internet connection. As a matter of fact, people are very communicative, and these services are built to satisfy the human needs for it. To summarise my views on this case, I am entirely convinced that smartphone usage among children can lead to serious problems in their development. However, society and the parents are in charge to answer the following question: to what extent are we allowing the utilization of smartphones?