Nowadays, not enough students choose science subjects in university in many countries. What are the reasons for this problem? What are the effects on society? You should write at least 250 words.

These days only a small minority of undergraduates from various countries opt to study science subjects at university. The following essay will discuss the main reasons for this controversial issue and describe the possible effects it may bring. As far as I am concerned, the foremost cause of such choices is the poor quality of school education. What I mean here is simply the fact that not enough attention is paid to science-related studies in the vast majority of ordinary schools, as well as the budget is limited. This results in more and more youngsters losing interest in the subject matter. Moreover, the unbalanced division of finances leads to social separation of the younger populace. For instance, while those in specialised schools are provided with all the needs, students of standard schools can not even afford materials for carrying out experiments in order to reinforce their theoretical knowledge. The probable effects of this problem include teenagers having no attentiveness towards science and them becoming ignorant. This directly affects the intelligence level of the country as a whole and makes it hard to gain respect from other individuals, due to the fact that people in the contemporary world are judged by their enlightenment. For example, a common rumour about the American people being unaware of basic geographic facts is already spread all over the globe, however, not all of them are dense regarding this field. To conclude, not choosing science as a major is an ever-increasing problem that impacts entire societies nowadays. It is mainly caused by not presenting enough facilities for postgraduates in order to become concerned about this specialization. It is insistent that measures are taken to solve this matter before it is too late.