Some say it is better to have vertical cities with lots of tall buildings rather than horizontal cities with fewer tall buildings. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people argued that skyscrapers are the best option for cities rather than landed residential. I firmly agree with this statement due to considering land availability and more privacy for the owner. I will examine my point of view in the following essay. On the other hand, having vertical cities should address the likelihood of disaster, the earthquake for instance, the drawbacks of this trend could be a threat of building collapse because of earthquakes. For example, cities which are situated at the ring of fire usually have a great intensity of disasters. Hence, they should be addressed and mitigate risk and have a good emergency contingency plan to save people who are living in apartments. However, there are two major possibilities why having vertical cities is the best option. To begin with, urbanization is one inevitable consequence of this current situation, this is making people's demand for living soar, while land availability is limited. Thus, the vertical building is the best option to accommodate people in one place because it is the best option to save space and cope with that demand. To illustrate, Singapore is the best example of why having an apartment is better for their people since the space availability is limited. Furthermore, the current generation tends to live in a flat because is more private, and affordable, as well as the flat complex is usually equipped with nice basic facilities such as general practitioner, mini market, and entertainment to support their basic need compared to landed buildings. In conclusion, although there are disadvantages to this trend like potential earthquake risk, the benefits offered are outpaced the demerits. Hence, I remain firmly agreed with this statement since it is cost-effective and more private compared to horizontal cities.