Traffic congestion is a growing problem in many major cities. Some people say that the government should be responsible to reduce the use of cars. And the car users also have to use public transportation more. Discuss both views and give your opinion

In this modern era, the use of private rides as one of the means of transportation in large cities is more popular than in the past. However, it has caused many problems such as traffic congestion that leads to car accidents. Therefore, governments should create new regulations to solve this problem, while the people who own cars should also be responsible for the same issue. In this,essay I will discuss some points related to the authority and car owners’ responsibilities to address this issue. To begin with, the local government of big cities may conduct a law that organizes the roads as well as reduces the number of cars. Organizing the road can be done by building up more traffic lights in certain points of traffic areas in order to prevent traffic and accident. Moreover, the regulation relate to car reduction is a great decision that can be done by the government. In this case, the local authorities will allow one household to own only one or two cars. Households with more than two cars should be given certain punishments, such as the increase of vehicle taxes annually or even monthly. On the other hand, the local authorities also can limit the time of driving. For example, conduct a free emission day during the weekday. Another alternative that can be given during this ride-free day is the city will require to only mobilize by public transportation such as trains, buses or even bicycles. I believe these acts will help to reduce the traffic jam in megacities, it might not be on a large scale change but even a small change in the use of cars can impact traffic. Besides, requiring the authority to take the lead in this traffic issue, the car owners also have mutual responsibilities. In accordance with this, car owners can start by minimizing the time they use their cars. For example, people who can access public transportation to work can leave their cars at home. Conversely, people who have the need to go by car can leave their homes earlier in order to avoid the traffic. In conclusion, preventing the traffic jam problem in big cities has been our responsibility. In my opinion, both governments need to conduct certain regulations to reduce automobile usage, while car owners need to pay more attention to using more public transport.