There is a lot of pressure on young people today to succeed academically. As a result, some people believe that non-academic subjects, such as physical education and cookery, should be removed from the school syllabus so that children can concentrate on academic work. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

With the immense competition in the job market and organizations constantly looking for highly qualified people, the academic success has gained a paramount importance among young people. However, some argue that non-academic courses are equally important along with core subjects. This essay explores the two perpespectives and concludes with a personal opinion on the issue. Firstly, the mounting pressure amongst today's youth to achieve high educational standing is due to the large amount of workforce that is being released into the labor market every year. Although a majority of graduates have a similar background, employers assess the candidate based on quality, which is reflected by the grades of fundamental subjects. For instance, a student may have excellent grade in cooking, when applying for an office job they are only evaluated based on their capability to calculate the sales and profits. It is instances like these that compel people to consider removing non-core subjects from the syllabus divert attention towards the fundamental courses. On the other side of the argument are the people who want the non-academic programs to be part of the schooling. Their point of view on this issue is also valid as not every student aspires for a office or a sales job. For example, people who aspire to become a chef or excel in sports may benefit from these subjects. Hence it is important for young minds to have a platform for all interests as everyone and schools should be responsible for providing these facilities. Though there are different arguments and reasons supporting both sides of this problem, I personally believe that having non-academic courses is important as they can equip the youngsters with general life skills and teach them the ability to think out of the box. In conclusion I disagree with the idea of solely focusing on academic work in schooling.