A serious problem affecting countries right across the globe is the lack of water for drinking, washing and other household uses. Why do many countries face water shortages, and what could be done to alleviate the problem?

These days, as the global population increases, and resource-intensive economic development continues, many parts of the world are failing to meet the accelerating demand for water usage, even for daily fundamental usage. As far as I am concerned, the mentioned phenomenon is deprived of several reasons, which can be tackled using appropriate measures. This essay will look at the cause and propose some solutions. One of the driving factors of the problem is rapid urbanization and an exponential increase in freshwater demand for households, especially in regions with a precarious water supply. The world’s population is just short of eight billion people and keeps moving to urban areas, which can intensify the imbalance between water supply and demand and lead to a higher likelihood of water shortage conditions. For instance in 2020, Cape Town, South Africa experienced a water crisis and became the first modern city to effectively run out of drinking water as a result of overconsumption. Another contributing factor is the contaminated and unsafe water threatened by human activity. Humans discharge a great amount of sewage and wastewater daily. The majority of wastewater flows back into the environment without being treated, and agricultural and industrial runoff, where pesticides and toxic chemicals leach into the groundwater and nearby freshwater systems. Consequently, precious drinking resources get contaminated, resulting in less freshwater and drinking water available. A study has shown that some agricultural provinces in China are suffering from serious drink shortages because the water supply sources are polluted by their own pesticides. To tackle this issue, the government should provide more subsidiaries to build water infrastructure including wastewater treatment plants to recycle used water. Another possible way would be educating people to preserve our unlimited water resources through lessons at schools, daily news or practice of how to preach water and how to preserve it through community activities. As a result, people would be more aware of the amount of water they use daily as well as take actions to not uncarefully dispense any contamination to water resources. To sum up, water resources have become more and more valuable these days because the current water supply cannot meet the urbanization surge. Water pollution caused by careless human activities is also a primary factor leading to this serious problem. Unless we get more major actions from the government and train our own awareness towards using water, the next generation will suffer.