There is a lot of pressure on young people today to succeed academically. As a result, some people believe that non-academic subjects, such as physical education and cookery, should be removed from the school syllabus so that children can concentrate on academic work. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Students are under stress due to the need to succeed in their examinations, therefore some people think it is a good idea to remove other activities from the syllabus. In this essay, I will explain why I strongly disagree with this statement. Performing practical skills will facilitate better learning. This is because when a student takes a break and does exercise, their neuronal network gets consolidated, which means they will be able to recall the information faster during a test. To illustrate this, an experiment was done on mice, where mice who were allowed to roam free after going through a maze were able to recall the maze faster than those mice who were not allowed to roam free. Thereby reinforcing the idea that physical activity is essential for memory. Furthermore, undertaking classes which help with daily living, such as cooking, will aid the youth further down the line. This is because in a university setting, freshman will be independent therefore will need to accomplish daily chores on their own. For instance, a bright pupil gets accepted into Oxford university, but they not have the skills required to live on their own. Hence, rather than concentrating on studies, they will have to take out time to learn the skills to survive. In conclusion, extracurricular activities should not be taken out from primary schools because this improves the youth's learning process and it is beneficial for graduates to deal with daily tasks which require no academic knowledge. Overall, this will reduce the stress that the next generation will face and it will aid in their concentration.