Some people believe that air travel should be restricted because it causes serious air pollution and uses up world's resources. To what extend do you agree or disagree.

In the era of industrialisation, the World has witnessed extensive air travel in the past few years. This has sparked discussion on whether air travel should be restricted as it contributes to toxic emissions and uses up the world's resources. I disagree, because restricting aeroplanes will not alleviate problems caused by them but taking measures to build engines which could utilize fewer resources can be useful. Extensive air travel has led to two main problems. Firstly, there are many flights running from one country to another country and even to domestic places for almost every hour. This kind of overutilization of flights causes serious air pollution as it releases toxic gases which contribute towards a rise in the earth's temperature. A recent study says that the earth's temperature was 2 degrees cooler than before during the air travel ban at the time of covid pandemic. Secondly, aeroplanes end up using a lot of fuel because of the engines that are designed to carry passengers at higher altitudes. Especially, cargo planes are built with heavy engines to carry loads over long distances, so these planes utilize more energy than domestic planes which are used to carry passengers. Despite these problems, I don't think restricting air travel can alleviate the situation. Instead, governments should focus on investing in the aircraft industry and encourage researchers to utilize the latest technologies and build eco-friendly machines which utilize less fuel and produce less toxic gases. Moreover, if air travel is restricted it might be a loss to people as they will not be able to meet their families residing in foreign countries. In the era of globalization, it is common to have children travel abroad to pursue higher studies,if the flights are restricted then the families may not be able to attend important occasions like graduation ceremonies. In conclusion, although extensive air travel can lead to problems such as air pollution and overutilization of fuel but restricting flights is not the solution as people may not be able to meet their families living in different countries. I think the solution is for the governments should invest to build more efficient engines which can produce less emission and burn less fuel.