International tourism has brought enormous benefits to many places. At the same time, there is concern about its impact on local inhabitants and the environment. Do the disadvantages of international tourism outweigh the advantages?

There is little doubt that global tourism brings merits to several places, although some proponents contend that its social and environmental impacts are concerning. This essay will delve into both perspectives. However, I believe that the benefits outweigh the drawbacks for some reasons. To begin with, popular destinations with crowded visitors will decrease their cleanliness. This is because of the managers' lack of prevention and monitoring as well as the visiting tourists' ignorance. A lake in Semeru Mountain, for instance, has been flooded with wastes such as food leftovers, plastics, and empty oxygen cans, from both domestic and international hikers on public holidays. Thus, the ramifications of tourism on popular places, particularly natural destinations, can be disastrous to local communities and environments. Despite these drawbacks, the positive impact of global visitors on the local economy is undeniable. It flourishes businesses owned by locals including accommodation services like hotels and car rents, food and beverages outlets, and other enterprises. One clear example is how Bali's economy highly depends on its worldwide tourists as they mainly occupy the resorts and villas, spend millions on fancy dinners in local restaurants, and buy tickets to every recreational destination on the island. Furthermore, this will also reduce the national unemployment rate as these enterprises need workers to maintain their businesses, especially during peak seasons like the Christmas holiday. To conclude, international tourism brings advantages and disadvantages towards the space and its surroundings. However, I contend that its positive impact on the local economy is undeniable and far outweighs its drawbacks, which can be prevented through the betterment of managers' monitoring system and visitors' awareness to keep the place clean.