Some people believe that the best way to improve the general well-being of school children is to make physical education compulsory in all schools. Others, however, think that this would have little effect on overall health and other measures are needed. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There is a debate among educational experts about whether sports should be compulsory in schools curricula or not. The reasoning behind the backers of this notion is that it improves the overall health of students, while the opponents believe that other methods must be implemented to achieve this aim. I agree that physical education is an outstanding way of achieving higher overall well-being and must be thought in schools, however, I think that schools should use more modern educational paths in order to introduce students to them. In this,essay I will try to discuss both views and draw a conclusion based on them. On the one hand, it is scientifically proven that sports directly affect the mental and physical state of human beings. For instance, several rigorous studies have shown that pupils who actively participate in group sports not only perform better in other subjects but are also more social as a result of bonds that have been formed in their teams. Additionally, experts state that sports classes can also act as downtimes for students who like to spend some time with their peers during their school time and not be burdened by the stress and pressure of teachers. Therefore, it is easy to deduce that if such positive effects are desired, physical education has to be part of the educational system. On the other hand, another group of scientists and legislators believe that the benefits of forcing students to do sports are non-existent, or at best very limited. They claim that these trends might lead to repulsion to do sports by some individuals. For example, human beings are not equal in their inclination towards doing sports as a result of different body shapes and upbringing. Subsequently, they may start to hate sports since it is imposed on them. I for one always had this problem in my schools years. Thus, schools must take more intelligent methods in the introduction of individuals to physical activities. To sum up, some believe that since the positive effects of sports on mental and physical health are proven, they must be studied, while others believe that forcing human beings into doing something can lead to disgust. I think that the advancements in our understanding of the human mind and behaviour have shown us more suitable methods to implement and encourage individuals to do something positive, hence, such methods must be used in order to solve this debate.