Nowadays, more and more older people who need employment compete with the younger people for the same jobs. What problems this causes? What are solutions?

It is undeniable that in this contemporary world, there is fierce competition between older and younger workers for the same positions. This essay will discuss the detrimental impacts of this phenomenon and suggest some viable solutions. One of the main problems caused by this trend is that it hinders the employment prospects for young people, especially fresh graduates. As a consequence, many young individuals are likely to be out of work and have to rely on unemployment benefits, which will put a burden on public funds. Moreover, unemployment can lead to social problems such as crime; for example, a jobless person may become desperate and commit crimes such as petty theft or even armed robbery to survive. This will increase the crime rate and threaten public security. Another adverse impact is that this trend may create a hostile work environment. For instance, although younger employees have an edge over older ones in terms of adapting to new technologies, it is usually the older ones who hold senior positions and earn higher salaries. Consequently, the former may feel frustrated or resentful while the latter may also suffer from stress and anxiety for fear of losing their jobs. As regards solutions, some measures can be taken by the government. Firstly, the government can encourage older people to retire at a certain age by offering them various retirement benefits and health care services. This will create more job opportunities for young citizens and alleviate the competition. Secondly, the government should also invest more in education and training programs for young job seekers, especially in fields that are in high demand. This will improve their employability and competitiveness in the labour market. In conclusion, youth unemployment, crime and negative work environments are the major consequences of the increasing competition between young and old workers. Therefore, it is essential that the authorities adopt the aforementioned suggestions to alleviate these problems.