Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

In modern society, instead of seeing a doctor, more and more people seek help from elsewhere when they have health problems, such as a pharmacist or a health professional like a Yoga tutor. Though this might have some negative impacts, I believe it is a positive development. Those who doubt the efficacy of alternative medicine may still swear by the mainstream medical practices and believe that when a person is unwell a visit to a medical practitioner is necessary. However, I believe that when a patient is denied a right or access to alternative medicine, he is simply compelled to rely on the medicine that has proved to be ineffective for him. If such a patient has access to alternative treatments such as ayurveda, tai chi or hypnotherapy some of his health problems will find a better solution. For example, many medical journals claim that hypnotherapy is a better cure than drugs for insomnia as unlike drugs, hypnotherapy does not have any side effects on a patient. On the other hand, the positive effects of this development cannot be overlooked. Firstly, the shortage of hospital staff has been a severe problem in the world. In the UK, there is a long waiting list for a GP appointment, and sometimes people even have to wait months to see a doctor. In this case, getting known medicine from a pharmacy or having access to other treatments would probably help patients out sooner. Also, not all health problems have to be treated by a doctor. For example, many people today suffer mild insomnia due to pressure or lack of exercise. For these people, a yoga club could probably help to mitigate the problem. In conclusion, alternative medicine and treatments are positive developments in modern society, but they are not likely to replace the role of doctors.