Some people think a crime should always have a fixed punishment like life for murder, while others believe you should take the circumstances of the crime into account. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

some individuals are on this idea that there should be a specific punishment for a crime, however others believe that the situation of the crime must be considered. I personally agree with the latter idea as it does not work for unintentional crimes and also for juveniles. In some parts of the world, a few types of punishments such as capital punishment are fixed for crimes like committing a murder and there is no way to get away with it. To illustrate, over 15 people have been executed in Iran in 2023 for committing a murder, political activities, and protesting due to the fixed laws upon these. Many see this phenomenon beneficial since they opine this can tackle the problem of high rate of criminal actions and works as a deterent, although, it is not a proven fact. On the other hand,there are the ones who believe that the circumstances must be evaluated and the judge should sentence the criminal accordingly. It happens quite often that a person killed an aggressor through self-defending and it is vital to bring this into consideration while judging. For instance, the results of research in 2019 show that the final decision of 37% of the juries has changed after they went over the detailed conditions of the time that the crime happened. Therefore, it simply shows how game changer it can be. I strongly agree that there should not be a fixed punishment for any crimes owing to the fact that some crimes happen unwantedly like when you push a person in a fight and he falls off and dies or for imature mature individuals who still don't have a vivid understanding of the consequences of their actions. In conclusion, while many think that violations should always have a specific punishment, others say that circumstances are essential to be considered. I support the second idea, thus we can have a fair judge.