in their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasize that their products are new in some way. why is this? do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Companies often promote more or less new features of their products in their commercials at present. This essay suggests that there are two primary reasons behind this development, industrial competition and technological advancement. This essay will also argue that the positive aspects of this trend, namely stimulating innovation and lowering consumers ' burden, overweigh the potential challenges like the bad quality of goods. Technology progression is one of the main reasons why new functions become a focus. With the booming of technology, industries can now make those products which were not possible to come true before. The availability of futuristic merchants, for example, automatic vehicles, drones, and AI chatbots, has greatly expanded the choices of consumers. Industries of course will make endeavours on technological inventions to attract customers. Additionally, increasing competition within industries contributes to the trend. Industrialization is based on large-scale standardization-using the same type of equipment to produce similar products, leading to an overflow of supply. Without providing new attractions, companies are challenged to sell their products when consumers are facing unlimited options. This development of promotion can enhance innovation. When competition becomes fierce, businesses will invest more in R&D, leading to a wide range of innovations across the industry. For example, when people get tired of traditional search engines like Google, ChatGPT, a chatbot AI, came online. By providing totally different services from conventional websites, ChatGPT as a hot choice of netizens rapidly jumped into the centre of the stage. Those opposed might say that the trend may lead to an increased burden on consumers because businesses put more resources into spreading new features of their products rather than concentrating on the products ' cost. However, this argument ignores the possibility that competition itself can bring down customers' spending due to more choices. For example, Tesla did mark itself as a unique EV manufacturer 10 years ago, with a basic model costing USD100,000. But after years of competition from emerging economies, the same model now is worth half of the amount above-mentioned. In conclusion, technology development and competition are the main factors of businesses focusing on new functions of their products. This essay contends that the positive side of the trend is the fact that it can encourage innovation significantly, minimizing any potential problem like increased consumer spending it may entail.