With access to the internet and social media websites, many children are exposed to a number of dangerous situations. Adults should thus limit access to the internet for their children. To what extent do you agree.

I firmly agree that children should have limited access to the internet as they are becoming the prime targets of cybercrimes today. Firstly, this essay will look at why the web is not a trustworthy place and how parents can protect their children from falling prey to horrible situations happening online. To commence with, in this period of technology, trusting everything and everyone happening on the World Wide Web is naive to a fault. Due to the lack of security over the internet, it has become easier for anybody to create a fictitious identity and run scams, children as they are gullible and innocent are easier to be influenced by them. It is little wonder, our news feeds are peppered with numerous accounts of online fraud and identity theft. For instance, last year more than 700 fake profiles were banned by Facebook after being reported for causing fraud and a large number of victims were school-goers. As a result, I suggest, limited and mindful access to the internet is important. As far as parents are concerned I think they hold a great responsibility in tackling this situation, instead of banning their young ones from using electronic gadgets, they can either limit their access or block certain websites. Furthermore, it is indispensable to look out the search history in children ’s phones just to make sure they are not misusing their freedom. To cite an example, many schools in my area have prohibited children below 15 to possess personal phones on the school premises. I wholeheartedly believe this phenomenon should be adopted at home as well. In conclusion, owing to the lack of trust, it is good to play safe over the internet, to compound matters access to the web should be limited by elders to prevent their children from being endangered. I believe the aforementioned points are strongly supporting my viewpoint.