In the future, it may be necessary for us to live on another planet. For this reason, some people believe that we should spend money now researching planets that could be a possible home, such as Mars. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Whether the government should invest in searching for another habitable place for human settlement in the universe has long been a controversial issue. While some people believe it is an urgent need for their survival in future, others believe the money should rather be spent on other important areas. I personally support the former view for the following reasons. On one hand, it is increasingly significant for the authority to invest in the discovery of another planet as the earth has become a more hostile place to live. In other words, people face more threats today than ever before. For example, the level of CO2 is rapidly rising and the contamination of the air accelerates especially in cities. As a result, this poses extreme damage to the breathing system of humans as well as wild animals. Therefore it is an urgent need to search for a different planet where future descendants can settle more peacefully and quietly. On the other hand, in spite of the importance of finding another place to live in the universe, the government should serve with more practical demands of people today. In fact, an incredible amount of money has already been spent on space projects. However, it does not lead to any productive consequences so far. Instead, the authority should invest in other fields such as welfare and education for people living today to achieve a higher quality of life. In conclusion, the worsening situation on the earth makes the financial investment in searching for habitable planets more emergent than ever. But the government is also responsible for making wise decisions to meet the current needs of people today.