29.Some people say economic growth is the only way to end world poverty and hunger, while others say economic growth is damaging the environment and must stop. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Some people assert that countries should focus exclusively on developing economies so as to eliminate poverty, whereas others believe that development leads to environmental problems and therefore should be suspended. It looks to me that it is only a question of different emphasis: both views have their justifications depending on the need of different countries. On the one hand, it makes sense that impoverished countries should prioritize economic growth over environmental impacts. From the perspective of advocates for this viewpoint, the issue that drains these nations is not their flora and fauna habitats but rather their backward economies. This includes low productivity in farming, insufficient investment in infrastructure, as well as millions of deaths due to hunger and diseases. Considering this, it is considered of paramount importance to stimulate economic growth in order to provide the necessary funds to tackle these issues. One convincing example is China, where the roaring economic rise during the past half-century has witnessed a dramatic decrease in its poor population and the elimination of famines. While the argument has its role to play in less developed regions, it is not justified enough to silence those environmentalists protesting on the streets in industrialized countries who have already experienced the detrimental ramifications coupled with economic rewards. In America, for example, it is the popularity of private cars that has become a major culprit for increasing carbon dioxide emissions. Also, addressing the pernicious impacts of some industrial projects might overwhelmingly outweigh their contribution to the tax system. This is due to long-term soil erosion and contamination of rivers caused by hazardous pollution. From an economic perspective, this concern also begets the claim that flourishing should not come at the sacrifice of the environment. In conclusion, each statement has its justification from a certain perspective. I would say that emerging economies could draw lessons from industrialized countries ' experiences in dealing with the relationship between development and ecological systems. Therefore, they should initiate a more comprehensive strategy that meets their demands.