Some people think certain prisoner should be made to do unpaid community work instead of being put behind the bars. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

It is widely believed that the need for unpaid community service for punishment instead of imprisonment them. Personally, I can neither completely agree nor disagree with this statement for a variety of reasons. I partly agree that there should be community service activities instead of prison because people commit a crime due to the environment in which they live. This means that they do not naturally commit crimes, but many other people's evil activities have affected them. In fact, if no one accepts them, such prisoners will tend to repeat the offence. Therefore, prisoners will have a great chance to reintegrate into society through unpaid work. For example, Research conducted by a university of law in Germany found that 15 per cent of young people who spend much time behind bars often turn into worse offenders than those who participate in community activities. On the other hand, I disagree with the viewpoint that serious offenders need to be punished to set an example. Firstly, crimes such as murder or robbery are often premeditated. This is the reason why they dare to commit big criminal activities because they believe that they will not be detected. Secondly, they need to be severely punished so that others don't themimitate. For instance, John who was brutally murdered at an elementary school in New York was sentenced to death by the Federal Court in 2002 to deter people. In conclusion, prisoners should take part in unpaid social activities instead of going to jail. I'm convinced that those who have committed serious crimes should be imprisoned to set an example.