The money spent by the government on space programmes would be better spent on vital public services such as schools and hospitals. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is believed that authorities should spend funds on public services such as schools, hospitals, transport and so on rather than spending it on space programmes. I would disagree with this view because, in my opinion, the authority is doing it to help its citizens. The paragraph below will discuss more about it. The population of this world is increasing day by day, and the national authorities are finding themselves in a tough spot to provide basic necessities to their people. To find alternative sources for this issue, the government is spending a lot of funds to hold research programmes in outer space and to find out resources that can be beneficial for human beings. For example, the authorities spent a lot of funds on the space project Chandrayan, which then later become successful as the water was discovered on the moon. Other than this, the space programmes are beneficial for the education sector as well. Young minds can learn about different things such as galaxies, solar systems, planets and so on. It is believed that if Neil Armstrong never stepped foot on the moon, people would never know about Earth's natural satellite. However, the government is already funding healthcare facilities and schools. It has become easy and cheaper to become a teacher, doctor, engineer and so on. On the other,hand it takes years to work on space programmes and execute them. There are many articles in newspapers that prove that some people spend government-allocated money on their personal luxuries rather than spending it on schools and healthcare. In conclusion, though there are several advantages of government spending money on space programmes authorities should take care of the basic needs of their citizens.