In some countries younger people are increasingly losing interest in teaching. Why is this happening? What can be done to improve the situation? Give reasons for your answers and include examples from your own experience.

The role that teachers play in the upbringing of young children cannot be more emphasized. Alas, it seems that new generations lack the incentive of pursuing this career. This is due to the lower pay of educational authorities and the demanding nature of it. In this essay, I will endeavour to discuss my reasons and draw a conclusion based on them. Firstly, teachers are generally compensated very poorly compared to other jobs. Unfortunately, this issue is even worse for educators of elementary schools. For instance, I am from Iran and our teachers are among the lowest-paid government workers. Therefore, ambitious educated young adults rarely choose to work as teachers as a result of their low income. Secondly, working as a teacher is very hard and tiresome. The process of teaching something that one knows is a daunting task even for the brightest of people. For instance, the famous astrophysicist Carl Sagan is quoted to say that you are not an expert in one field until you can explain it to a five-year-old. Additionally, the naughty nature of kids and their basic understanding of subjects can be an obstacle in the process of learning. For example, I remember myself being challenged in learning basic English grammar that I use daily these days. Hence, these views convince me that teaching is a hard profession. To sum up, I believe that the younger generations have logical reasons for avoiding teaching job positions. These reasons are but not limited to low salary and the challenging nature of this job. I believe that governments should try to increase the income of teachers by legislating new rules and finding new sources of income in order to be able to pay the teachers; after all, the future of any country is determined in the classrooms.