Governments spend an enormous amount of money on renovations of old buildings in large cities. Some believe that this money can be better spent on building new houses and developing roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with the statement?

Governments spend a lot of funds on renovations of old buildings in large cities. Many public believe that the budget should be used for developing new houses and developing roads. Personally, I think that spending fund on building new houses and developing roads are better. Usually, renovating an old building needs much more money. These things can happen because sometimes we have to use expensive materials. For example, old properties that were built in 1950 or older have their own architecture. If the authority wants to renovate those properties, they have to use some rare materials. These materials are not cheap so the authority needs to spend huge money. However, some individuals think that renovating the old buildings is important. Especially to save the historical side of a city. Saving the historical side is not only important for moral values but also for attracting tourists. Anyway, amount of individuals grows by the year. Building new houses and developing roads are necessary. So, the government should prioritize those things over renovating the old buildings. Moreover, It is very hard to gain benefits from saving the historical side if people don't live properly. In conclusion, although many people think that the government should keep the historical side of a city, there are several important things that have to be attention. Prioritising people's lives is much more necessary.