International travel is becoming cheaper and countries are opening their doors to more and more tourist. Do the advantages of increased tourists outweigh disadvantages?

It is a common belief that global tourism is likely to damage the environment or cultural treasures of countries as travelling abroad has become affordable to more people. However, there is a more persuasive argument that cheaper travel encourages individuals to experience various cultures and extend their insights through international trips. On the one hand, travellers sometimes ruin the environment or heritage sites by doing outdoor activities or destroying remarkable artefacts. There are a number of cases in which tourists not only affect nature, such as oceans or mountains, negatively but also devastate cultural heritage. For example, a large number of corals die every year because of sunscreen which tourists apply. Also, the government cannot help but spend exponential money renovating culturally important sites. Nevertheless, international travel allows tourists to experience diverse cultures and meet new people from different countries, which leads to extending their viewpoints. Several decades ago, exploring other countries was only for the rich. Therefore, people, who could not afford flight tickets and tours, had to learn about different cultures through books. However, since the global trip has become cheaper and more reasonable, more individuals are able to benefit from travelling abroad. For instance, in South Korea, because there are many moderate flight tickets to other countries, more Koreans can experience various values and make unforgettable memories. In conclusion, while there are some drawbacks of global tourism when it comes to nature and notable locations, it is evident that the advantages of it far outweigh the disadvantages since it gives more tourists opportunities to have overseas trips in person.