Some people think that the government should be responsible for crime prevention, while others believe that it is the responsibility of individuals to protect themselves. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

While it is often argued that the state should initiate some activities that can reduce the crime rate, others are sure that everyone is responsible only for their own businesses. In my opinion, the individual has to understand clearly what he or she is doing and be ready for the consequences. On the one hand, it is often thought that if the government is motivated to reduce the level of crime, then a lot of programs will be introduced and undoubtedly such programs can benefit the public, especially those who potentially can be influenced easily to commit crimes. In other words, related authorities can try to avoid a situation where a person is compelled to do something wrong. As an example, there are opportunities in schools for children from poor families where they are able to get a profession and earn money legally once they have completed their education. Additionally, governments try to show the population all types of punishments by using social ads. On the other hand, it is also often believed that people have to take care of themselves, and I agree. It is very important for a healthy society not to do something that the person does not want to happen to him. For example, people especially children have to put themselves in other person's shoes before making a decision to do something important. It is the best practice for training empathy which can influence the crime rate. Furthermore, all people have to understand the cost of their actions, they can go to jail or have capital punishment in some countries. In conclusion, while people may vary in their opinions, I think that every citizen in a country is accountable for crime prevention. If they were more responsible towards their behaviours, the crime rate would reduce significantly.