Plastic bags, plastic bottles, plastic packaging are bad for the environment. what damade does plastic do to the environment? what can be done by governments and individuals to solve this problem?

Nowadays, plastic can be seen everywhere around since the use of plastic as bags, bottles, packaging etc are indispensable and more convenient. As a result, this non-degradable material gets accumulated over the earth's crust and does significant damage to our environment. It is mainly due to improper regulation over the usage and disposal of such products. In order to solve the above mentioned problems, both government and humans should put their hands together. Firstly, plastic is a non-biodegradable material. The micro-organisms present in the soil cannot act upon the leftover plastic remains and thus can stay in the soil for hundreds of years. Certainly, this permanent waste can cause a number of problems like interrupting seepage of water, seving as a breeding ground for mosquitos, affecting soil quality etc. For example, with the passage of time, plastic gets fragmented and form micro-plastics which can enter deep into the soil and blocks water pathways therefore affecting crop growth and root formation of plants, making the ground unsuitable for cultivation. Nonetheless, to solve this problem, the government should put a ban on the limitless production and sale of items in plastic wraps and coating which in time decreases its availability. Additionally, as the inhabitants of Earth, it's the duty of human beings to protect our mother Earth by keeping a distance from the usage of such items. Secondly, in areas, especially rural areas, people often end up in the removal of plastic wastes by burning them, which in turn releases toxic fumes into the atmosphere. It is evident that people in all age groups suffer the disastrous effects of such acts. For instance, medical experts recently proved that inhaling plastic fumes causes heart diseases, respiratory problems like asthma, bronchitis and even affects the reproductive health of individuals. The ideal solution for this is to set up sufficient plastic control units in every panchayath and properly regulating them to make sure collection and elimination are done simultaneously according to the advice of experts. Moreover, people can also paticipate in this mission by taking a pledge that plastic waste will no longer be burnt in their homes and will also discourage anyone who attempts to do so. In conclusion, our environment is deteriorating day by day due to heavily accumulating plastic debris. Flourished use of plastic in almost every area and improper methods used by individuals for its disposal are the key reasons. To tackle this, the government should keep a watch over plastic products and should modify the law to impose a permanent ban on plastic items in the near future.