The use of social media, e.g. Facebook and Twitter, is replacing face-to-face contact for many people in everyday life. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Some people think that the regular use of social media applications is replacing physical contact for individuals in day-to-day life. The below paragraph will discuss some of the advantages as well as disadvantages of the former topic. Social media has made our life easier, more convenient and more entertaining. With the help of these applications, we can contact our long-distance friends and relatives within a few seconds. Introduction to the latest technology such as video calling has made it even more entertaining as we can face time others whenever we want. Nowadays a person can apply for different jobs on applications such as LinkedIn and can do work from home. Apart from this, we can share our pictures, videos, blogs and other stuff on their daily life experiences, which helps us to connect with various types of personalities across the globe. However, it is believed that social networking is destructive as it has pulled us away from our family and friends. Individuals these days prefer to be alone and socialize over these applications rather than socializing in person. This has affected them in their personal life and also in their professional life as well. For example, employees these days have become less interactive in terms of group presentations or teamwork. Other than this many have lost the ability to interact face-to-face. It is also seen that some individuals have lost confidence as well as a way to speak with others while interacting. Apart from this, people have become obsessed and unhealthy as they spent most of their time on these platforms. In conclusion, though there are certain advantages to these applications, I believe it holds more disadvantages.