It can be difficult for small local shops to compete with large supermarkets and with on-line shops. How does this affect local communities? What could be done to improve this situation?

Over the last few decades, wide-scale grocery and Internet shopping are increasingly attracting more customers, adding a burden on the community shop owners, as they fight for their survival. This is mainly due to the low prices and better deals one may find in big chains, however, this causes small businesses to reduce staff and eventually seize to exist. Nevertheless, there are solutions readily available to tackle this problematic trend, such as raising people's awareness about this matter. To begin with, there is an argument to be made that community shops are of pivotal importance for the locals' comfort. To illustrate this point, one has to consider the job opportunities and the convenience of having such stores in close proximity, especially for those living in remote areas. For example, large supermarkets are usually operating at set points between two remote locations in order to meet both places' demands. This being the case, a supermarket clerk or customer would have to drive rather than walk or cycle to the location, which in both cases adds up to more expenses. In order to resolve this troubling issue, one simply viable solution would be to educate the public on how to support such businesses. For instance, rural German areas host bi-monthly events in which the local authorities offer evidence-based discussions to highlight the significance of keeping convenience stores up and running. Similarly, some Greek municipalities offer incentives in the form of discounts in order to boost the local economy. By doing so, local store owners are more likely to beat the competition of their rival counterparts and collectively take part in improving the living standards in their own vicinity. To conclude the aforementioned discussion, the overwhelming evidence suggests that although one can buy the same product for a lower price in a supermarket, supporting small store-keepers turns out to benefit the community as a whole.