Some believe that modern technology is increasing the gap between rich and poor people, while others disagree. Discuss both views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answers and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

It is sometimes argued that advances in technology have led to an increase in the space between the affluent and the less privileged, while others believe it is the opposite. Although, new machines have closed the distance between wealthy people and the poor because of social media, however, I believe the development in the gap between these people is because modern automation is expensive to purchase. On the one hand, the social network has brought the rich and the poor together on the platform. This has made it easier for these groups to communicate,interact and share ideas in the development of the society. Through social media, the rich are able to assist the poor in terms of financial needs and also offer them job opportunities. For example, through social media,one of the richest people was able to pay for the surgery of a child with a hole-in-heart. If not for modern technology, this juvenile would have died because the parents could not afford the medical bills. On the other hand, I support that advancement in technology is creating more gaps between the rich people and the poor people because new technological gadgets are very costly. As a result, only the rich is able to purchase it. This has created a huge space between these groups because the less privileged can not afford it. For instance, during the Covid 19 pandemic, all school classes were taught online, so only the rich students were able to take part in the virtual classes because of the prices involved in purchasing a laptop and buying an Internet bundle as well. Hence, this led to poor academic performance of the poor who could not afford it. Even though, electronic gadgets are expensive for the poor to buy,they have the desire to use modern technologies and they try every means to afford these machines,even to the point of committing crimes like stealing. In conclusion, some individuals think that new technologies have closed the gap between the affluents and the less privileged, however, am of the opinion that these new appliances are creating a huge space between them because the prices of these machines are higher.