Many believe that modern technology has brought people together, but others say that it has driven us apart. Discuss both viewpoints and give your own opinion.

Over the last few decades, technology has excelled tremendously shaping people's lives in a number of ways. One such way is how we connect with each other. While some apprehend this as a useful means of getting closer, others argue that it has taken its toll on people's interactions. To begin with, there is an argument to be made that modern society has significantly thrived upon the use of social networking platforms. To illustrate this, people are nowadays dependent on emails to communicate with others whether this is in the realm of their occupation or social network. The extent to how far a message can travel is limitless since one may exchange information from different parts of the world instantly. This proved particularly useful, for example, when the COVID restrictions prevented face-to-face communications, email correspondence then tackled this issue allowing many to continue working safely as well as socialising from home. In addition, there is a growing number of disputers rejecting the benefits mentioned before. Their main argument is that today's population is growing up lacking basic communication skills. Further to this, this is quite evident in the youth who have mostly lived during times technology predominated in their life. To exemplify this, schools are referring teenagers to therapists for getting panic attacks when requested to lead a presentation on a public stage. With this in mind, it is clearly evident that some may potentially suffer from living in the shade of virtual reality. However, this is not the case for most people. In conclusion, despite the difficulties technology may pose at an interpersonal level, the benefit of borderless engagement with others around us is by far the most important. From my perspective, such advancements have had a positive impact on our society since they have not only knocked down pre-existing physical barriers but also fostered a sense of confidence in otherwise timid individuals who would feel uneasy in a real-life setting.