Biological warfare is the use of infectious agents with the intent to kill humans as an act of war. Some People believe that this type of warfare should be legally regularized by the UN. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement.

Biological warfare has been the subject of multiple debates in the past decades. Some people believe that it should be regularized by the United Nations. Regulation of such controversial subjects always comes with multiple agreements and disagreements. In this essay, I will share my personal idea about this matter. On the one hand, biological weapons are a threat to humankind. These weapons can cause catastrophic casualties and irreversible effects. For example, intentionally spreading a contagious disease in an area can harm children, adolescents and elderly citizens. Moreover, they can harm the genes and even influence future generations, generations that will only read about this infection in history books but will be suffering from its long time effects. Therefore, I strongly believe that the production, usage and development of these weapons should be controlled. On the other hand, regulation of biological warfare can create time-consuming bureaucratic procedures during scientific research. As a result, interest and investment in biological investigations will decrease and this field's progress will face difficulties. For instance, an essential and life-saving experiment that can end up with the invention of a vaccine will be likely to last longer or deal with financial problems. So this regulation can have some insufficient influences on beneficial research works, especially in the field of microbiology. To conclude, the United Nations should not hesitate to protect humankind and the next generations and any procrastination in the regulation of biological warfare by international organizations is unacceptable. However, this goal should be achieved without blocking scientific progress.