The working week should be shorter and workers should have a longer weekend. Do you agree or disagree ?

Work is an integral part of human well-being, which cannot be overlooked. In my view, I strongly agree that the workday should be shorter and employers should allow their employees to have longer non-working days. The first reason why companies need to provide their workers with a longer weekend, as well as fewer work weeks, is that it can encourage workers to achieve better performance. By being provided with more leisure time, employees can have more time for self-development and achieve a better work-life balance, allowing them to engage in activities beyond their job responsibilities, such as spending time with family, taking personal time, and socialising with friends. As a result, they tend to be more focused on their job during the working week and also not suffer from burnout as they have plenty of time to relieve their stress. The second argument in favour of a long weekend is that if most employees have fewer working days, it will have a positive impact on environmental welfare. To illustrate, since workers usually want to spend more time at home because of tiredness during working days, the amount of transportation on the weekend tends to be less than on the weekday, which can lead to better air quality. The fact that nowadays transportation plays a vital role in air pollution proves how beneficial this strategy is to implement. In conclusion, allowing employees to experience a long weekend with shorter working days not only improves their performance but is also useful for the continuation of the living world. Thus, I remain firmly convinced that fewer working days and long weekends should be provided by companies, considering its advantages.