In many countries the number of visitors to art galleries has been steadily declining. What are the reasons for this? What could be done to improve the situation?

In recent years, there has been a declining trend of visiting art galleries in some countries. Given that this is harmful to the art industry in different ways, identifying the reasons behind it is key to finding solutions. There is a number of reasons why the number of visitors to art galleries is decreasing. First, since more people have access to mobile phones and the Internet, they can enjoy almost everything online, which is free and convenient. For instance, Pinterest is a social media platform allowing everyone to contemplate great pictures of multiple types and topics without having to travel anywhere. Second, overpopulation and scarce resources have been driving humans to compete at work harder than ever before, leading to inadequate time for personal hobbies. This means that career goals will be more likely to be prioritized over entertaining activities like enjoying paintings in exhibitions. Nevertheless, there are actionable measures that can be taken to improve the situation. Lowering the price of tickets can act as an incentive for visitors to come. In fact, combo price strategies, such as big promotions for families, may help increase the customers in a large number, especially at weekends. In addition, schools and teachers play pivotal roles in sharing the importance of artwork for students. For example, rather than viewing contemplating artwork as trivial and frivolous, children can be taught about the relaxation effects it may offer, which will not only help mitigate stress but also enhance creativity. To summarize, there are numerous reasons why people are losing their interest in going to museums or exhibitions, posing certain challenges to many galleries. However, they can take steps to address it by providing better ticket prices and schools can help make more students interested in artwork.