Some people believe that sport is an essential part of school life for students, while others feel it should be purely optional. Discuss these opposing views and give your own opinion..

People hold different views about the benefits of making sports an essential feature of the school curriculum. While a number of people believe that it should be kept optional, I would argue that it should be given utmost importance. On one hand, sports provide a very good environment for children of diverse ages to interact with each other. It teaches the youth the importance of teamwork and how it is okay to lose at times. Furthermore, it provides entertainment for the students in between the continous boredom of classes. Moreover, people can discover their talents and may even realize that their passion lies in sports. Hence, schools can provide the amenities and resources for the people who are unable to access them due to their financial and personal reasons. I assume that this will provide new opportunities to many different groups of people. On the other hand, one may argue that certain individuals are not that interested in physical activities and instead would prefer to spend most of their time in studies. For such people, it may come out as a punishment instead. They may be forced to take part wheras in reality their interests lie somewhere else. In conclusion, I would like to say that more importance has always been given to studies and sports have taken a backstage. This new approach may give promising changes in the future.