Some people believe that everyone has a right to have access to university education and that governments should make it free for all students no matter what financial background they have. To extent do you agree or disagree?

The question of whether higher education tuition should be abolished irrespective of the socioeconomic background has been debated hotly among academics and politicians. One school of thought holds that governments should impose a free-college policy. In this essay, I will elaborate on my disagreement. It is understandable why a bulk of people subscribe to the notion that making higher education free of charge is the responsibility of governments. One valid reason is enhancing living standards. This is because bachelor's degree holders tend to secure high-paid jobs such as bank management or CEO in big firms. Therefore, if the underprivileged who can not afford educational tuition have a chance to access tertiary education through government scholarships, they are more likely to escape poverty. However, despite the aforementioned benefit, I believe that covering educational fees can do more harm than good. First and foremost, the unemployment rate may increase due to this policy. To be specific, the job market has been competitive as it is for those people who have qualifications. If more people enrol in formal education and hold college degrees while the number of applicants employed annually does not increase proportionally, the huge number of people who could not find decent jobs is what we can predict. This issue not only affects learners but also puts a strain on government coffers, leading to tax hikes, and reduced welfare. Another justification is deteriorating academic performance. The logic behind this is that students feel poor performance at school does not cost them anything, hence they may not study in earnest and apply themselves to getting good scores. In conclusion, while it is irrefutable that wholly subsidizing higher education tuition can bring some advantages, I would contend that government should let students pay for their own education.