The percentage of overweight children in western society has increased by almost 20% in the last ten years. Discuss the causes and effects of this disturbing trend. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own experience or knowledge.

A trend has been observed that in a number of Western nations, the number of overweight kids rose by 20%, over the last decade. Most of them have unhealthy eating habits and are massively influenced by aggressive advertising. This essay will delineate some solutions related to prevention programs which follow to limit this trend. The foremost reason for this trend, as previously mentioned is associated with the quality of food from markets. Nowadays, people choose food by its aspect and this habit fosters great providers to use artificial substances, or to grow plants and animals in artificial ways. This entire process, pursues to raise the profit margins, but at the same time, affects general health especially for children, because they are in a growing process. In addition, fast food companies invest every year, millions of dollars in advertising, to promote their products. Processed products have dangerous amounts of fats, sugar or salt, which regularly consumed, increasing the rate of obesity and other chronic diseases. As a solution, governmental institutions should invest additional funds to introduce prevention programs in schools. During classes, children should learn about the importance of eating organic food, or which categories of aliments can not be mixed, for,example bread with chips must be avoided because those two have similar kinds of carbs. In addition, national programmes should offer free training sessions for overweight kids. Finding it difficult to practice daily activities, most of the kids avoid doing it. Special programs with low rate intensity adapted for certain persons can cogent more people to join in and to improve their quality of life. In conclusion, overweight among children is a real problem underpinned by the poor quality of food and the lack of movement. National institutions should raise public awareness about this problem and invest funds in children's education.