In some countries young people are encouraged to work and travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

In various nations, younger population is being motivated to take a gap year in order to gain some work experience or travel around before they start with their further college education. In this essay, we will be focusing on the advantages of this situation as well as the disadvantages that come along. To start with the advantages, younger education today is more motivated to gain a global experience. They do not want themselves to be restricted to the local area experience they are being provided with, rather they want to explore the world and try learning about the work culture and other aspects. Now as we know it is quite important to have knowledge about the field one is going to work in, work experience will definitely help them grow and flourish in that area as real-life scenarios can be much different than what is being taught in books. Moving on to the disadvantages, though it is important to gain some knowledge of the real world and travel around, it is also important to get done with your university education in order to land the perfect job depending on the course one opts for in a university. Secondly, some people are not mentally strong to live apart from their families and might end up getting homesick. Which can ruin their whole idea of the gap year. To summarize, taking a drop year has certain advantages it also has some possible drawbacks which should be taken into account before making the decision as these years most certainly makes up for our future.