In many countries today, crime novels and TV crime dramas are becoming more and more popular. Why do you think these books and TV shows are popular? What is your opinion of crime fiction and TV crime dramas?

Crime as a genre is hugely popular - whether it is the thrill of the mystery or the mindset of a criminal mastermind. As a member of the general public, crime fiction and TV crime dramas excite me; it allows me to understand from the comfort and safety of my home. TV shows such as CSI and Law & Order are some of the longest-running shows, spanning almost two decades. The storylines may not differ as much, however, the suspense keeps the viewer captivated, leaving them wanting more. They take certain aspects from history and duplicate them into a viewer-friendly way. Hence, crime TV shows are incredibly popular. Crime books, on the other hand, are not as popular as TV shows. It may be due to the comparatively slower pace of books. Despite not being as popular, they are still well-known. The Nancy Drew Series and Scooby-Doo Series were my favourite books growing up. They were short stories comprised of cases that could be easily understood. In my view, crime as a genre is incredibly interesting and thus is popular. It teaches caution and what to look out for, whilst being in a safe haven.