The figure contrasts the vegetation and temperature zones of tropical and temperate mountains.

The figure contrasts the vegetation and temperature zones of tropical and temperate mountains. Overall, tropical mountains have a wider altitude range of temperature zones than their temperate counterparts, which is the primary difference. It is also evident that in tropical areas, vegetation thrives at higher altitudes. Tropical mountains have a warm zone that extends up to 1600 meters (5800 feet) above sea level and offers the perfect setting for producing tropical crops. Above this, there is a temperate zone that ranges from roughly 1600 to 3100 meters (1600 to 10,800 feet), which is suitable for growing coffee and cocoa. Nevertheless, temperate mountains do not contain these two zones. The remaining temperature zones of tropical mountains are similar to all four zones of temperate mountains, including the cool zone, forest, alpine meadows, and permanent snow. Firstly, the cool zone for grain cultivation in tropical mountains occurs at 1600 metres, whereas in temperate regions, it starts from sea level. Broad-leaf trees grow up to 3100 metres on the former, while the limit is approximately 1400 metres (5000 feet) on the latter. Next, forests of pine and firs occur in tropical mountains from about 3100 to 4000 metres (1600 to 14,100 feet); however, in temperate mountains, the limit for spruce is around 1750 metres (6100 feet). The cold zone, forest, alpine meadows, and permanent snow are among the four surviving temperature zones of tropical highlands that are comparable to those of temperate mountains. Firstly, in tropical highlands, the cool zone for grain cultivation begins at 1600 meters, whereas in temperate regions, it begins at sea level. On the former, broad-leaf trees can reach a maximum height of 3100 meters, but on the latter, it is roughly 1400 meters (5000 feet). Next, forests of pine and fir grow in tropical highlands between 3100 and 4000 meters (1600 and 14,100 feet), whereas spruce can only grow to a height of about 1750 meters in temperate mountains (6100 feet). Alpine meadows can be found at 4000 meters (14,100 feet) and 1700 meters (6100 feet), respectively, in tropical and temperate mountain environments. Alpine grasses thrive better in temperate mountains with lower elevations, but evergreens tend to flourish in tropical highlands due to higher altitudes. Finally, whereas the snow line, above which there is permanent snow, is found in temperate mountain ranges at an elevation of about 2800 meters (10,000 feet), it is found at a greater elevation of over 4300 meters (16,000 feet) in tropical mountain ranges