University students are increasingly studying abroad as part of their studies. Do the advantages of studying abroad outweigh the disadvantages?

In this current era, it is becoming increasingly common for college students to pursue their studies in foreign countries. although a student who has a chance to study abroad will be exposed to culture shock, the experiences that they get will develop both personal and professional achievements. It is true that the preference to study overseas is immensely beneficial for their future careers. This essay will discuss the benefits and drawbacks of studying in different countries and provide feasible examples. Let’s start by looking at the disadvantages of studying abroad. One of the noticeable effects of it is that students can feel loneliness and the challenge to use a different language is inevitable. However, the problem is not a big issue, because, in the modern era, many creatures and information can be obtained to fix this problem. Take the affirmation awardees of the LPDP Scholarship as an example. Before commencing the studies they will be equipped with English Sessions to reduce the probability of culture shock related to language. There, the awardees do not only learn the English language but also they will be provided with more information about the culture of the study destination countries. thus, worrying about the problems of studying abroad such as culture shock is no longer a big issue. Turning to the advantages of studying overseas, the students will achieve both personal and professional benefits. In personal achievement, they can explore new experiences relating to language and culture from people worldwide. In addition, the experience to meet with people from various backgrounds will increase the chance to establish networking to help the students get more career opportunities in the future. For instance, after the awardees of the LPDP scholarship finished their studies, most of them will have good skills to communicate using English. Furthermore, the students who particularly have an interest in business can establish start-ups and get funding from their connections. Hence, it is undeniable that the positive of studying abroad is more than the negative impacts. Consequently, even though some people worry about students studying in different countries can be exposed to negative experiences such as culture shock, it is only the adjusting phase and it is not a big issue because people can be more well-prepared before they go abroad to study. However, the experiences during the studies phase in foreign colleges allow the students to develop soft skills and create brighter future careers.