Some argue that we should use cleaner energy sources to protect the environment, even though they are more expensive than traditional energy sources like coal and oil. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Various new types of energy sources are introduced to the public, including solar power; nuclear power; and hydroelectricity, intending to reduce the negative effects on the environment derived from traditional power sources. Despite some drawbacks to using clean energy, I strongly agree that the merits of replacing traditional energy, such as petrol and thermal power, with clean energy overweight the disadvantages. On the one hand, clean energy sources have some downsides, including higher costs due to installation fees and the restrictions based on weather or geographical conditions. Some clean energy, such as solar power systems for domestic usage require additional fees for installation and maintenance, which could lead to financial burdens for individuals. On top of that, some clean energy sources can only function in certain areas with special conditions. Take hydroelectricity as an example, systems as such could only be placed in the part of rivers that has strong water flow caused by drastic land difference to active generators. On the other hand, in my perspective, there are more merits regarding cleaner power for societies and individuals. First of all, compared to traditional energy sources, including petrol and thermal power, new energies foster less toxic components which could contaminate rivers and the air. Take thermal power as an example, it releases lots of poison gas during the process and deteriorates the air quality in neighbouring regions. Secondly, the price of traditional power sources is going to rise since the quantity is limited, unlike clean energies which are produced by unlimited natural sources, including solar power, wind and water. To summarise, it is inevitable that there are many drawbacks to using cleaner energy sources with current technologies, however, I believe such energy could fulfil the consumption of power in the future and replace the traditional sources of power which are the main causes of environmental pollution.