An increasing number of children have become hooked on fast food and aerated drinks that do not provide much nutrition. This poor diet has led to a rise in obesity among children. What are the problems that are associated with obesity in children and what steps could be taken to prevent it?

Nowadays, it is commonly seen that a large ratio of youngsters prefers processed food items rather than nutritious alternatives, which has been considered a major reason behind obesity among them. This essay will cover a few problems integrated with overweight children and their respective solutions in the upcoming paragraphs. To commence with, many obese children lose their will to do physical activities and they end up being lethargic. Moreover, they often struggle to complete their daily chores without help. For instance, the son of my neighbour has recently put on several kilograms that too when he is just 7, I am afraid to say this but his childhood is mostly lost in his bed as he is least interested to play with other kids, even go out with his parents. To tackle this situation, I believe the major responsibility lies with parents or guardians by offering them proper medical care and insisting they pick on some fun curricular activities such as swimming, badminton or dance. The second major problem that obesity leads to is it makes children susceptible to catching several diseases, to name a few, high cholesterol, breathing issues, allergies and acne. To cite an example, my brother who is turning 12 this year has recently been diagnosed with multiple vitamin deficiencies as he was mostly eating out last year while he was away for studies. The way forward could be, to understand the benefits of nutritious, home-cooked food. People should make a shift from unhealthy options to hygienic ones to survive a better life. In conclusion, laziness and health issues are directly linked with excessive body fat. However, these problems can be solved by making a shift to a healthier lifestyle which involves certain physical activities.