In the future, nobody will buy printed newspapers or books because they will be able to read everything they want without paying on the Internet. To what extend do you agree or disagree with this statement.

Reading articles, whether in print or on the internet, is an important way to keep up with current affairs. There are some individuals who believe that due to the accessibility of free articles on the internet, newspapers will become obsolete. Furthermore, the information from the articles is the same, whether it is printed in the newspaper or downloaded onto a device; does that mean newspapers will no longer be required? A century ago, newspapers were the only way to gain access to timely knowledge of the world. Learning about the world was a sign of intelligence and therefore purchasing the paper helped to elevate status, impressing those listening to the imparted report. It also created a plethora of jobs from printing presses to journalists, who all worked together to create sensational news. As well as this, they would make a lot of money by businesses placing adverts to make their work nationally known. Nowadays this is not necessary. Journalists still work to collect data to print, but due to self-publishing, the general population can get their news directly from the source, bypassing the need for a journalist. Applications, for example, Twitter and Instagram, have created a fact-checking feature, allowing anyone to share information and verify its credibility. The public no longer needs to wait until the following day to receive it in the next news cycle. In this sense, the need for newspapers has diminished. There are certain members of the elderly population, who prefer getting their information from a newspaper, therefore the need has not completely disappeared. In my opinion, I agree with the statement, as it will not be long for that to happen as people are more likely to favour the more accessible option.