Many people are now opting to provide technology companies with their personal data in exchange for access to software. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Sharing personal data with software companies in exchange for using free access to their software is worry a trend. In my,opinion Personal data should not be used for commercial purposes. However, many software companies use it for their commercial benefits. Data user companies have access to millions of information of their users which help companies to add new feature to their applications. Whereas software users have the risk of leaking vital information to hackers. Software companies use data to solve universal problems like access to banking and credit facilities for marginalised and poor segments of their database users. Many fintech companies now have access to the data of users who don’t have access to normal banking facilities. Therefore, they launched many neo-banking apps to provide credit and banking facilities for them. For example, In India Apps like Paytm, google Pay has revolutionised how banking happens among the poor sections of society. I am of the opinion that despite advantages users are at risk of leaking information to hackers. However, the biggest risk of sharing data is users don’t have their consent of using their personal information to companies. To cite an example, In Europe GDPR guidelines are introduced by Eu to prevent such practices. Which leads to strict policies for sharing data with third parties. Social media apps like FB, WhatsApp and Instagram are now closely monitored because of this. Therefore, I would argue that opting to share personal data with software companies have disadvantages that outweigh the advantages. To Conclude, Sharing data in return for access to software has more drawbacks than benefits. It will have far-reaching consequences for its users. If, strict data -sharing guidelines are followed then only access to software should be allowed to users.