Nowadays, there are a large number of coffee shops and fast-food vendors on high streets and in town centres. Why are there so many of these outlets? What effect is this having on the society?

In this modern era, consuming junk food has almost become like a trend. Presently, there are a vast amount of cafés and food trucks found on the streets and in town centres. This essay will give the reason for this situation and its effect on the people. Nowadays, most of the people lead a busy lifestyle. Because of heavy workload and the need to rush for everything, leaves the folks with little amount of break-times. This eventually leads them to consume street food which is easy to find and quick to eat. In addition, a number of people drink coffee on a regular basis since the caffeine helps them to stay energetic and focus more on their work. For example, police officers, majority of the time are found to be consuming coffee and donuts as they are not only delicious but are also quick to eat. Apart from this, town centres are places where most of the citizens like to spend their free time and thus they would naturally be attracted to food vendors after long walks. Although there are number of effects of this trend on the people, the major issue is health problems. Firstly, the food found on streets is usually to be oily and also includes high proportion of fat. Most of the working sectors include their employees to sit in a chair and work for hours thus leading them to a sedentary lifestyle. It results in folks developing obesity along with cholesterol issues. Secondly, people who have coffee in large proportion tend to form a disrupted sleep cycle and other problems. For example, studies suggest that consuming high amount of caffeine can lead to increase in anxiety symptoms. To conclude the essay, leading a busy lifestyle causes people to develop the need to eat something easy and convenient to find. However, it results in them forming various health issues like obesity and anxiety.