Discipline is an ever-increasing problem in modern schools. Some people think that discipline should be the responsibility of teachers, while others think that this is the role of parents. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

I am of the personal opinion that the idea of parental responsibility for discipline has far better benefits than the idea that teachers should have responsibility for the discipline of children in modern schools, and there are several reasons for such an opinion, which I shall be elaborating on as below. Basically, I believe that parents are the first and most important influencers in a child's life and play a vital role in instilling values, setting boundaries, and teaching appropriate behaviour from an early age. Basically, I believe that parents are the first and most important influencers in a child's life and play a vital role in instilling values, setting boundaries, and teaching appropriate behaviour from an early age. This, I suppose, can be best exemplified by the fact that in a study carried out by the University of Shahid Beheshti in the city of Tehran in 2007 on children's discipline, it was seen that discipline should start at home and parents have a responsibility to guide their children's behaviour. Furthermore, it has been said that parents work with teachers by reinforcing school rules and expectations at home, and I cannot but agree with such an opinion, as best illustrated by an article written in the School Magazine, in which it was stated that parents help to maintain discipline in the classroom by communicating openly and setting consequences for misbehaviour. Another point to be considered is the fact that parents help to prevent disciplinary problems from arising in the first place. According to Dr John Kersey of Harvard University, "Every child is unique, and parents have valuable insight into their child's temperament, strengths, and weaknesses. By contrast, I can also see the benefits of teachers being responsible for discipline. First of all, I think that teachers are trained professionals who have the knowledge and skills to manage classrooms effectively. Maintaining discipline is an inherent part of the teacher's job, as in the case of according to Dr David Gibson from the Faculty of Psychology at the University of Cambridge " Teachers are responsible for creating a conducive learning environment. In addition, I think that students spend a significant part of their day at school, where teachers have considerable contact with and influence over their behaviour. Finally, I would like to conclude by saying that teachers influence students for a significant part of the day, but they should not replace the fundamental influence and responsibility that parents have in shaping their child's behaviour. Likewise, parents rely on the expertise of teachers and the school environment to reinforce the importance of discipline. It is based on the abovementioned reasons that I would like to reiterate that I personally believe that the idea of parental responsibility for discipline has far better advantages than teachers being responsible for the discipline of children in modern schools.