Young people are often influenced by their peers. This is called peer group pressure. Do the advantages outweigh disadvantages?

In their adolescent years, the youth will be exposed to many different group of friends that certainly will influence them. If they do not have any self value then they will only blindly follow them due to the pressure to fit in without thinking about the impact it will have to themself. The effect of peer group pressure rarely shows any positive outcome and will give many drawbacks that can even affect their adulthood. To begin, the most basic example would be the case where some teenagers will ask their parents to change their phone to the most recent model like what their friends have. In a peer group of teenagers, there will be no guarantee that all of their parents are on the same economical level. This means that some of the less affluent parents will either struggle to provide the demand or will decline them. Due to the pressure, the declined wish will cause s This shows the potential negative effect that can cause drawback to the youth and their relation to others such as their family members. More negative impact can be seen from other cases of peer group pressure. There are some cases where the youth are pressured to do illegal activities as a minor, such as underage smoking and alcohol consumption. Many of high school students in Indonesia who smoke and drink alcohol usually are first introduced by their group of friends. As a result, such negative activities was easily spread due to the pressure if they refused to them, there are risk of simply considered to be not cool or even being kicked out of the peer group. This leads to the youth being easily introduced to illegal activities due to the peer group pressure, not to mention the health impact that will usually show up later in their adulthood. To conclude, If the youth do not have any sense of self value, they might easily do and follow their peers. By following their friends blindly, it will never give any positive outcomes as there is no universal choice and path for anyone to go. Hence, the risk of many disadvantages if the youth are focused to only follow what their peers do without any consideration.