Some people believe that all children should learn a foreign language from the time they start school, while others feel it is better to wait until a child is at secondary school. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

In the wake of globalisation and with a vast number of education opportunities, learning foreign languages has become both indispensable and available to everyone, especially to children. However, while some feel that a child should start having second language classes only since secondary school, I side with those who believe that people should pick a foreign language much earlier. On the one hand, it could be argued that only when children enter secondary school their brains are developed enough to start to learn a new language. For instance, at an earlier age children are thought not to have sufficient mental capacity to practice a foreign language profoundly and effectively. Moreover, it is claimed that at primary school children lack assiduity, which means it would be complicated to pay particular attention to the subject. Consequently, serenity and perseverance coupled with hard work are key in learning a language, but rarely do a child possess such qualities. On the other hand, I agree with those who support the idea of the introduction of foreign languages to children as early as possible. Nowadays, children spend a lot of time online since their first days and the Internet is extremely multilingual. Thus, children begin to consume huge amounts of content in various languages, so, in my opinion, it is logical to help them to master their language commands in the right way right from the beginning. Furthermore, it has been proven scientifically that a child’s brain has unlimited language potential and is perfectly designed for this purpose. That is why I feel that foreign language classes at primary school would help children unlock their language skills and hone them from the first days. In conclusion, although children do not have sufficient soft skills at an early age to practice a foreign language, for that they naturally possess an extremely powerful ‘hardware’. Therefore, on balance, I firmly believe that children should start learning a new language as early as it is feasible.