For centuries, important parts of education have remained such as reading, writing and maths. With the advent of computers, some people think that computer skill be made as a fourth skill to be added to the list. To what extent do you agree?

I am of the personal belief that digital literacy should be considered as a fourth essential skill of education, alongside reading, writing, numeracy, and mathematics, and such an opinion is largely based on the reasons elaborated below. Basically, I believe that computers and digital technology have become increasingly pervasive in society and have revolutionised many aspects of people's lives, including communication, access to information, and problem-solving. This, I suppose, can be best exemplified by the fact that in a study carried out by the University of Shahid Beheshti in the city of Tehran in 2007 on graduated students, it was seen that 80% of students have computer skills that navigate them to the modern world effectively. Furthermore, it has been said that a number of industries now require computer skills, and specific computer -related skills are increasingly in demand. From basic computer literacy to more specialised skills such as programming or data analysis, computer skills improve employment prospects and career progression, and I cannot but agree with such an opinion, as best illustrated by an article written in the Journal of Business Development, in which it was stated that the job market has been heavily influenced by digital technology. Another point to be considered is the fact that, in the digital age, the ability to use computers and the Internet responsibly is important for digital citizenship. Digital literacy includes not only technical skills, but also critical thinking, information literacy, online safety, and ethical considerations. For example, according to Dr John Kersey of Harvard University, "Teaching digital literacy helps individuals become more responsible digital citizens and navigate the online world effectively. Finally, I would like to conclude by saying that computers and technology are powerful tools that enhance learning in traditional subjects such as reading, writing, numeracy,and mathematics. Integrating digital literacy into the curriculum enables students to explore subjects in new and engaging ways. For example, according to Dr David Gibson of Cambridge University," Coding develops reasoning and problem-solving skills, while digital tools facilitate research and collaboration. In conclusion, based on the aforementioned argument, I must reiterate that I believe that the development of computers as the fourth skill is complementary and integrated into fundamental skills such as reading, writing, numeracy, and mathematics in preparing students for the future.