It is increasingly difficult to feed everyone in the world today. Some people believe that the best solution to solve is issue is for scientists to discover new ways of producing food. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Feeding the population of the world has become an incredibly challenging task. There are people who think that the only way out of this is for scientists to consider new methods of producing food. In my opinion, I agree that new methods must be sought. However, I also believe there are changes that can be done right away to help feed all individuals, namely redirection of existing grains. Science masters are constantly working to discover new methods of food production. For example, one recent invention is the use of hydroponics to grow vegetables. This system requires no soil, only water and nutrients, and the process of growth is accelerated by providing constant artificial light. This new process allows the production of fruits in half the time, resulting in greater efficiency. However, the redistribution of food we already have can help to solve world hunger. Take for example the fact that an overwhelming majority of grains are fed to livestock to be bred for meat. If a proportion of it was instead given to the hungry, they could use it to satisfy their stomach as well as create food for themselves in the future. For this to happen, the meat industry would be required to not be so greedy and profit-orientated. My view is that there is a lot that can be done without the need for new inventions, thus I do not fully agree with the statement. It would be helpful to have new discoveries, however, a faster and more reasonable option would be to use existing resources.