Some people think that the best way to ensure road safety is to increase the minimum legal age for driving cars or riding motorcycles. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

One of many controversial debates in solving traffic issues is related to how to improve traffic safety. There is a belief held by some individuals that the most comprehensive approach to promoting road safety is to raise the minimum legal age for operating cars or motorcycles. Although it can reduce careless driving; however, I mostly disagree since it is ideal to combine various approaches. This essay will analyse two factors which contribute to my opinion. First of all, increasing the minimum legal age for driving automobiles or motorcycles is expected to reduce the number of accidents involving inexperienced drivers. To be more specific, the young are statistically known to be involved in accidents due to their lack of experience on the road, thus increasing the minimum legal age could potentially reduce this risk. However, this method may bring negative consequences. For instance, it could limit the mobility and independence of young people who may need to travel for school, work, or other important activities, which could lead to increased demand for public transportation and other alternatives. Thus reducing safety when using public automobiles. On the other hand, this proposal is not optimal by itself since there are two other effective measures which should leverage for more benefit outcomes in traffic safety. Chief of these is that the government should enact more severe punishments to prevent drivers from committing traffic -based infringements. Case in point, drivers who exceed the speed limit or drink alcohol while driving should have to pay a heavy monetary fine or have their driver’s license revoked. As a result, more drivers will obey the rules while joining the traffic. Another approach is for the government to enhance the public transportation infrastructure such as bus and train services to encourage citizens to use them in their daily life. This can lead to a decline in the number of people utilizing private vehicles and therefore safer roads. In conclusion, I disagree that increasing the legal driving age can encourage safer travelling, as I believe that other solutions such as punishments on those who violate traffic laws and the enhancement of public transportation combine to make the most viable solution since not all accidents are caused by underage drivers.