Some people believe that school children should not be given homework by their teachers, whereas others argue that homework plays an important role in the education of children. Discuss both of these views and give your own opinion.

People have different opinions about whether students should be allocated homework or not. Despite some strong opponents against the setting of homework, I believe it is of paramount importance in educating children. There are some reasons that people might argue that homework is unnecessary to the pupils. First, many individuals say giving homework is putting a needless burden on the children as it doesn’t have a clear impact on the educational outcomes. Endless surveys have been made but there is no real proof that homework provides better academic results but a negative attitude to school. Many students still can get flying colors without doing homework so it will be challenging to give it to them. Besides, being students is a full-time job already so doing extra exercises at home may make children feel exhausted and unmotivated to attend the next lesson. Notwithstanding these arguments above, I support the view that homework is inevitable in schooling children. The main benefit of this is to encourage independent learning as well as a wide range of skills. As the students have to solve all the tasks alone, they are given challenges to work through the homework at their own pace to implement what they have learnt at school into practice. Therefore, school children can deeply understand the knowledge and instill the value of learning. Pupils also need to plan their time appropriately to make sure the assignments are done on time. Therefore, they can achieve both problem-solving and time-management skills. These skills might contribute to improving their academic performance and benefit the pupils in the long run. To sum up, setting schoolwork may bring some downsides, however, I believe its benefits far outweigh its drawbacks in the long term.